FANDOM


Gambler
Power to bluff
Bluffs about card
NoImage
Eon
Reveal
Wild
As a main player, before cards are revealed you may call out any number as a "spread". If the 2 cards are revealed to be different from each other by that number or more, you add that "spread" number to the card you have revealed.
Super
When declaring what your card is, you can also "up the ante" by saying how many extra tokens (1-20) are at risk. The penalty for lying or calling a non-bluff is now as many extra tokens as you declared.
Gambler
Power to bluff
Bluffs about card
NoImage
Mayfair
Reveal(Mayfair)
Wild
As a main player, before revealing cards, you may call out any number as a "spread". Then reveal the Challenge Cards. If the two cards are different by the spread or more, you can add the spread number to your Attack Card.
Super
When declaring what your card is, you can "up the ante" by saying how many extra tokens (1-20) are at risk. This penalty applies to whichever side loses the bluff calling.
Gambler
Power to bluff
Bluffs about card
Gambler (FFG)
FFG
Reveal(FFG)(on)
Wild
As a main player, before cards are revealed, you may call any number as a “spread”. If the encounter cards are different from each other by that number or more, add the “spread” to your card.
Super
When stating what your card is, you may “up the ante” by saying how many extra ships (1-20) are at risk. The penalty for lying or calling a non-bluff is now as many extra tokens as you declared.

Gambler is an alien that gets to bluff about its encounter card. Instead of revealing it, it is kept face down. Gambler then says what it is. If the opponent accepts the claim, the encounter is concluded as if the claim were true; the card is then placed at the bottom of the deck without being revealed. If the opponents calls the bluff, the card is revealed. If Gambler was bluffing, it loses (from outside the encounter) as many ships as were in the battle. If there was no bluff, the opponent loses as many ships as he had in battle, then the encounter is concluded as normal.

StrategyEdit

StrengthsWeaknesses
Strong at mindgaming opponentsCan be a disadvantage if not played well

As GamblerEdit

Gambler's main draw is that it can look at the opponent's card before declaring what its own card is. Combined with banter and bluffing ability, a good Gambler can draw the opponent into making the wrong call. For example, talking about waiting to get compensation can cause opponents to believe a 00 is an  N , while boasting about playing the 30 can get two or three encounters out of it before actually playing it (hopefully having someone call the bluff the last time).

Against GamblerEdit

Opposing Gambler is difficult. Success against Gambler will usually come from being able to recognize when the player is lying more so than trying to guess what card was actually played.

MatchupsEdit

Seeker can completely shut Gambler down. When facing other prediction-based powers such as Mirror or Calculator, it becomes much more difficult for either side to work the outcome.

TextEdit

 
EditionPower TextHistory
EonYou have the power to bluff. Instead of revealing your card in a challenge, you keep it face down. Now declare what it is. You may lie about it. If your opponent accepts your declaration, the challenge is concluded as if your card were revealed as what you declared. When discarding it, you may bury the card in the pile to prevent exposing it. If your opponent calls your bluff, however, you reveal the card. If you lied, you must lose to the Warp as many tokens as you had in the challenge. If you did not lie, your opponent loses as many as he had in the challenge. These lost tokens may not be tokens involved in the challenge. Conclude the challenge normally from the exposed cards.Arising in an era of geologic turmoil, the Gamblers trusted only to their own audacity. The faint of heart soon perished, but the most daring rose to even greater effronteries, and now launch a contest for Cosmic stakes.
MayfairYou have the power to bluff. After your opponent reveals his Challenge Card, you keep yours face down and declare what it is (lying if you like). If your opponent accepts your declaration, conclude the challenge as if your declaration were your actual card. When discarding, you may bury the card in the discard pile to avoid revealing it. If your opponent calls your bluff, however, reveal your card. If you lied, you lose to the Warp the number of tokens you had in the challenge. If you told the truth about your card, your opponent loses to the warp the number of tokens he had in the challenge. The player losing the bluff chooses which tokens to lose. After taking the penalty tokens from other bases on the losing side of the bluff, resolve the challenge normally.Arising in an era of geological turmoil, the Gamblers trusted only their own audacity. The faint of heart soon perished, but the most daring rose to even greater effronteries and now launch a contest for Cosmic stakes.
FFGYou have the power to Bluff. After your opponent reveals his or her encounter card, you may use this power to keep yours facedown, instead stating what it is (and lying if you like). If your opponent does not challenge your claim, conclude the encounter as if your statement were true, then place your encounter card facedown on the bottom of the deck instead of discarding it. If your opponent challenges your claim, reveal your card. If you lied, you lose as many ships to the warp as you had in the encounter. If you told the truth, your opponent loses as many ships as he or she had in the encounter. These lost ships may not be ships involved in the encounter. Afterwards, conclude the encounter normally using the revealed cards.Arising in an era of geological turmoil, the Gamblers trusted only their own audacity. The faint of heart soon perished, but the most daring rose to even greater effronteries and now launch a contest for Cosmic stakes.

NotesEdit

  • While it is stated on Gambler's FFG sheet "Do not use with Sorcerer", it is actually relatively simple to do so. If Sorcerer decides to switch cards, Gambler reveals the card that ends up as his (the one Sorcerer initially played), while the card Gambler initially played stays face down. Gambler then bluffs about his card (the one that now belongs to Sorcerer).
  • Gambler's power is implied to be mandatory in the Eon and Mayfair versions, but it is explicitly optional in the FFG version. This is somewhat puzzling, as Gambler has no apparent advantage to foregoing a use of its power.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.