Fandom

Cosmic Encounter Wiki

Skeptic

211pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Skeptic is an alien that can choose to double the risk of an encounter. As a main player or ally, Skeptic may doubt that the opposing main player will win. If the opponent agrees and is the offense, his turn is over and all ships return to colonies. If the opponent agrees and is the defense, all offensive ships land on the planet, the defensive ships remain, and defensive allies return to colonies. However, if the opponent disagrees and double-doubts, then whoever loses the encounter (between Skeptic and the opponent) will lose twice as many ships.

EonEdit

Skeptic
Power to doubt
Doubles risk of challenge
Eon Expansion 1 Seeker Skeptic
Eon
Planning
Wild
You can wait to put tokens into the cone until after everyone else has.
Super
When you tell a player you doubt that he will win, you also tell him how many tokens not in the challenge (1 to 20) are at risk (instead of your normal Skeptic method of determining risk). If he double doubts you and plays the challenge, the loser (or both if you fail to deal) loses that number of tokens to the Warp in addition to the tokens lost in the challenge.

Eon debuted in the first Eon expansion.

MayfairEdit

Skeptic
Power to doubt
Doubles risk of challenges
NoImage
Mayfair
Planning(Mayfair)
Wild
After cards are played, you can doubt that one of the main players played the highest Attack Card he could. If you were right, you get his highest Attack Card after the challenge. If you are wrong, he gets your highest.
Super
When you use your power, you also tell the opposing main player how many additional tokens (1-20) are at risk. If he double doubts you and plays the challenge, the loser (or both in a failed deal) loses that number of tokens in addition to the number of tokens lost in the challenge.
 
EditionPower TextHistory
EonYou have the power to doubt. As a player or ally in a challenge, before cards are played you may tell the player opposing your side: "I doubt that you will win". If he agrees and is offensive player, he ends his turn and all tokens in the cone return to bases. If he agrees and is defensive player, all offensive tokens in the cone establish a base on the planet as if they had won (but defending tokens already there remain) and defending allies return to bases. If he disagrees or "double doubts" you, cards are played. If one side loses or a deal is not made, the number of tokens normally lost by either of you is doubled.During growth, one colony of marine Skeptics achieved the size and organization necessary for neuronic activity. Proliferating into super-rationality, they doubt the brash claims of others and see no reality but their own.
MayfairYou have the power to doubt. As a main player or ally in a challenge, before cards are played you may tell the main player opposing your side: "I doubt that you will win." If he agrees and is offensive player, he ends his turn and all tokens in the cone return to bases. If he agrees and is defensive player, all offensive tokens in the cone establish a base on the planet as if they had won (but defending tokens already there remain) and defending allies return to bases. If he disagrees or "double doubts" you, cards are played. If one side loses or a deal is not made, the number of tokens normally lost by either of you is doubled.During growth, one colony of marine Skeptics achieved the size and organization necessary for neuronic activity. Proliferating into super-rationality, they doubt the brash claims of others and see no reality but their own.

FFG Edit

Flare Edit

Wild: You decide last whether you will ally regardless of turn order

Super: May add 1 to 20 ships to risk instead of merely doubling


Stub

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.